As of May 2023, there are 130 licensed cannabis dispensary locations in Illinois. The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) oversees cannabis licensing in the state. Between January and April 2023, the IDFPR accepted applications for 55 conditional dispensary licenses.
Under Illinois law, marijuana dispensaries are permitted to operate between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. daily. Licensed dispensaries can set their own specific hours in line with this rule.
Dispensaries in Illinois have the discretion to open at any time between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. This means that although they must close at 10:00 p.m., dispensaries can choose their operating hours within the timeframe permitted by law. Precise operating hours can be obtained by checking out Illinois-licensed dispensaries’ websites.
No, marijuana dispensaries in Illinois are not allowed to deliver cannabis to customers. All purchases must either be made in-store. Alternatively, customers can order cannabis products online and pick up the products at the dispensary. Some dispensaries also offer curbside pick-up for cannabis ordered online.
No, dispensaries in Illinois do not ship cannabis out of state. Interstate movement of cannabis is illegal under Illinois law and federal law.
Yes, there are recreational marijuana dispensaries in Illinois. Recreational marijuana was legalized in Illinois in 2019 after the passage of HB 1438, the Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. Legal sales of marijuana began in January 2020.
When visiting a recreational marijuana dispensary in Illinois, customers must hold some cash for purchases and IDs showing they are at least 21 years old. Accepted IDs include:
When visiting a medical marijuana dispensary in Illinois, qualifying patients must take along their valid registry IDs. Dispensary staff will request a valid Illinois Medical Card before attending to registered cannabis patients. Caregivers must also carry their IDs in order to purchase cannabis from Illinois-licensed dispensaries.
Qualifying patients in Illinois must carry their medical marijuana IDs when visiting state-licensed cannabis dispensaries. Medical marijuana dispensaries are required to verify the status of medical marijuana customers before granting them entry into their facilities. Adult-use marijuana buyers only need to demonstrate that they are at least 21 years old by presenting valid IDs.
Yes, medical marijuana patients aged 18 and over can enter cannabis dispensaries in Illinois. Those under 18 can only access medical marijuana with the help of their parents or caregivers. A person must be at least 21 years to enter recreational marijuana dispensaries in Illinois.
Illinois residents can visit as many dispensaries as necessary in a day. However, they can only purchase the maximum amount of medical or recreational marijuana allowed under Illinois law.
No, cannabis dispensaries in Illinois do not take credit cards. Banks do not process marijuana-related payments because marijuana is still federally prohibited.
No. Marijuana dispensaries in Illinois do not accept health insurance because marijuana is still a Schedule 1 drug under federal law. As a result, health insurance programs like Medicare and Medicaid cannot provide coverage for marijuana treatment.
Dispensaries in Illinois track customers’ weed purchases to ensure that they do not buy more than the legally permitted amount. All licensed dispensaries in Illinois are mandated to use BioTrack software to record weed sales.